Workshop on Networks in Economics and Finance

NETEF 2018

September 14th and 15th 2018 at the IMT School for Advanced Studies Lucca (Italy)

The IMT School for Advanced Studies Lucca is honored to host 7th annual Workshop on Networks in Economics and Finance to be held on Friday September 14th and Saturday September 15th in Lucca Italy. This workshop is organized jointly with CIRANO and the Sam M. Walton College of Business at the University of Arkansas, and builds on the successful CIRANO Workshops on Networks in Trade and Finance that have taken place in Montreal and Fayetteville, Arkansas over the last six years.

The workshop aims to gather researches to share and discuss advances in theoretical and empirical analysis of networks. We welcome researchers working on various topics within economics and finance, including: trade, economic development, game theory, financial contagion, systemic risk, production networks, network formation etc. Contributions with an inter-disciplinary content, whether submitted by economists or by scholars in other disciplines, are welcome.

The keynote speakers of the workshop will be:

Yann Bramoullé (Aix-Marseille School of Economics & CNRS)

Vasco M. Carvalho (University of Cambridge)

Stefano Battiston (University of Zurich)

You can download poster of the conference here. The updated submission deadline was June 15th, 2018.

Submissions: Papers and extended abstracts (completed papers preferred) should be sent to the e-mail address before the NEW deadline of June 15th, 2018. For questions regarding the workshop please contact You can download full call for papers here.

Support: There will be no registration or other fees. For those on the workshop program, the organizers will provide accommodation for two nights in on the IMT School campus (September 13 and 14). Coffee breaks will be provided to all registered participants; the IMT School canteen can be used free of charge for lunch (for non presenters there will be a discounted price). The conference will take place from 9 to 17 on Friday September 14th and from 9 to 14 on Saturday September 15th. The conference dinner for presenters will be organized on Friday 14th; limited spots for other registered participants are available (but are not financed by the workshop organizer).

Scientific Committee:

  • Guido Caldarelli (IMT School)
  • Giorgio Fagiolo (Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna Pisa)
  • Diego Garlaschelli (IMT School)
  • Raja Kali (University of Arkansas)
  • Paolo Pin (Bocconi University)
  • Massimo Riccaboni (IMT School)
  • Ekaterina Turkina (HEC Montréal)
  • Ari Van Assche (HEC Montréal & CIRANO)

Organization Committee:

  • Massimo Riccaboni (IMT School)
  • Kenan Huremović (IMT School)
  • Sara Olson (IMT School)
  • Paolo Zacchia (IMT School)